Gran Canaria – Burnt to a Crisp

08 MAY 2005:

Gran Canaria is one of Spain’s Canary Islands, off northwestern Africa. It’s known for the white-sand beaches stretching along its southern coast, from happening Playa del Inglés and Puerto Rico to quieter, family-oriented Puerto de Mogán and San Agustín. The northern capital, Las Palmas, is a popular stop for cruise ships and duty-free shopping, while the island’s interior is rural and mountainous.

I went to Playa del Inglés, Gran Canaria in 2005 with my sister Jill and friend Michelle, about a decade before I started documenting my travels. Therefore all I have are memories and a few photos of my time there.

We really enjoyed our holiday, although I did get severe sun burn so that ruined the holiday a little bit. It was intensely hot, and it was only May! I don’t recall using any sun lotion so it was my fault entirely but boy it was painful!

We went to a stripper’s show one night, which I really enjoyed. Hot naked men, what’s not to enjoy?! I even did some country dancing on stage to Cotton Eye Joe with one of the strippers. It was a bit random but a lot of fun!

Gran Canaria is one of Europe’s most popular gay beach destinations so it’s not surprising that we befriended a gay couple, Andy and Marcel. We spent most of the week hanging out with them whilst exploring the gay nightlife. That’s not something I do every day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

